Changes to FEE-HELP in 2018

In 2017, the Commonwealth parliament passed the Education Legislation Amendment (Provider Integrity and Other Measures) Act 2017.

Under this legislation, students who undertake eight or more units as part of a bachelor or higher-level qualification (bachelor, graduate diploma, masters), or four or more units as part of a sub-bachelor qualification (diploma, associate degree), must pass at least 50% of these units to remain eligible for a FEE-HELP loan for their course. Students who do not maintain this pass rate will need to pay their tuition fees upfront to continue in their course, unless they are able to demonstrate that special circumstances apply.

Students who are affected by this change will receive communication from CHC prior to the commencement of Semester 1, 2018.

See the Study Assist website for more information.